This week, Mr. Kim and I ordered some cake toppers! Actually cupcake toppers, I think, since we aren’t really planning on a cake at this point. However, we didn’t go for the traditional or the fancy. Instead, we chose mandarin ducks as a reflection of the Korean part of our background.

© Francis C. Franklin / CC-BY-SA-3.0
© Francis C. Franklin / CC-BY-SA-3.0

Mandarin ducks are traditionally associated with marriage in Korea because they’re supposed to take only one mate for life, and apparently they used to be featured in wedding ceremonies, although I’ve never seen them even in the traditional wedding I went to. But they are still apparently common wedding gifts and symbols of love, and we thought it would be nice to incorporate them into our wedding somehow.

Of course, mandarin duck cake toppers are not really a thing. After searching (admittedly only in English, but I didn’t find anything when I searched in Korean later anyway), I made a shortlist for us to look for together; this basically consisted of any reasonably sized, reasonably priced duck figurines I could find on the internet. Here’s what we looked at:

Clay “Korean wedding ducks” cake toppers from Etsy:

clay duck cake toppers

This one, from etsy, scores points for actually being a cake topper and more points for being very adorable. They’re also fairly reasonably priced for a custom-made product. However, with a four-inch base and at 3-4 inches in height, they’re a bit bigger than we wanted, and also we couldn’t really think of what we’d do with them when we finished. I mean they wouldn’t really make good decor, and I don’t think that kind of clay holds up particularly well. Rating: 3/5

Feng shui “mini mandarin ducks for love”:

mini_mandarin_ducks feng shui

I like that these are colorful, and they are the perfect size and a great price. However, they are….kind of ugly. The texture looks kinda weird, and I don’t think Mr. Kim appreciated the colors as much as I did anyway. Also, I am kind of suspicious of sites that promise to cure all your love problems based on where in your house you put some statues and don’t really want to give my money to any quacks. (Hah hah! Get it?) So this was a no-go for us, but maybe they’d be perfect for someone else! Rating: 2/5

“Cure for love,” more feng shui mini ducks:

feng shui okay ducks

These ducks are also a great size and are, I think, a lot prettier than the above feng shui ducks. I think the texture looks better and I like that they’re also colorful, and colors I like better. Also, this feng shui site makes much less ambitious claims about the effects these ducks will have on your love life, so maybe they’re a little less “quacky” (HAH. HAH.). Actually these would probably have been my second choice, although I think Mr. Kim might have liked them less than I did.  Rating: 3.5/5

Celadon mandarin ducks:

celadon ducks

The best thing about these ducks is that they’re celadon, a type of ceramic/glaze Korea is famous for. I love the glaze and the color in general and have a couple of vases of it back at my parents’ house. I also like the red and blue ribbons on their necks. These ducks are just 완전 한국적, and I love that. However, I think they would look out of place surrounded by the fluffy hopefully-cream-cheese icing of the red velvet cupcakes I’m hoping for, especially at a wedding with a bit of a casual farmhouse vibe like we’re kind of going for. Also, they’re rather expensive and a bit too big. Mr. Kim commented that he would like a set of these (or something similar), just not as cake toppers–for example, he says, mandarin duck-shaped chopstick rests are often given as wedding gifts. And they’re probably cheaper to buy in Korea than on Amazon. So again, rating: 3/5

Ceramic duck cake toppers:

ceramic ducks

I like that these are ceramic, and I like the variety of colors they’re available in, but they’re a bit too big for us and also they aren’t mandarin ducks–the necks are too long. But, the colors are awesome! The price is okay, too. Rating: 2/5

WINNER: Korean wedding duck magnets!:

Mandarin Duck magnet

In the end, we’ve chosen a pair of magnets for our cake toppers. This may be unconventional, but they’re great because their design and coloring is really Korean and their size is pretty much perfect. They aren’t really beautiful, like the celadon ones above, and they’re less cute than the polymer clay ones from etsy, but they still look pretty good, and they’ll fit with the whole vibe of our party pretty well, I think. The delivery time is a bit long, since they’re coming from Korea, but the price is good. The best part is… since they’re magnets, after the wedding, we can keep them on our fridge and remember our wedding day! They still aren’t exactly what I had in my mind’s eye, but they’re pretty good, so I’m giving these a 4/5, congratulating myself on fitting three “quack” puns into this post, and calling these the winner.

2 thoughts on “Taking a quack at cake toppers, Korean style

  1. Hi! I came across your blog post today and just wanted to say thank you! I actually purchased those magnet cake toppers today, per your suggestion. We aren’t Korean, but my fiancé and I met in Korea and spent four years of our lives there, so it was important to us to have something representative of that on our big day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

